Archives Hours
We welcome and encourage use of McConnell Library's Archives and Special Collections!
Spring Semester 2013 Hours:
Archvies and Special Collections are open by appointment during regular Archives hours.
Due to the April construction of the new Archives Reading Room on Level 5, Monday's "drop in" hours have been discontinued for the remainder of the semester.
Archives hours:
Monday - 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday - Friday - 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Please contact Gene Hyde to make an appointment:
wehyde@radford.edu
540-831-5692
Overview - Archives and Special Collections
Welcome to the Archives and Special Collections Guide. This Guide provides a general overview of what you can find in our collections.
Archives and Special Collections consists of three main types of collections:
- Radford University Archives - contains official records, photographs, publications, documents, and other materials that document the history of Radford University. The Archives contain official minutes and notes from the Board of Visitors, RU presidential papers, historic academic and business records, publications such as catalogs, yearbooks, and the student newspapers.
- Special Collections - contains manuscript collections, postcard collections, and other collections. Highlights include the Virginia Anti-Saloon League Collection, the Donald Erb Collection, and the Arthur J. Goldberg Manuscript Collection. Special Collections also houses the Rare Book Collection which can be searched through the library's online catalog.
- The Appalachian Collection - contains the Coal and Labor Collections, the Highland Summer Conference Collection of Appalachian writers, the Parks Lanier Appalachian Literature Collection, various manuscript collections documenting local businesses, historic business ledgers, and other collections related to Southwest Virginia and Appalachia.
Please check out the Archives Blog for online exhibits and displays, featured collections, and news from the Archives and Special Collections: http://mozart.radford.edu/archives/
Our mission: The Radford University Archives and Special Collections supports the teaching, research and public service missions of McConnell Library by collecting, preserving, organizing, and making accessible materials that document the history of Radford University, Southwest Virginia, and Appalachia. You can access the Archives website by clicking on this link: http://lib.radford.edu/Archives/
Please give us a call! We'd love to hear from you!
Archivist and Appalachian Collection Librarian |


Loading...
